rural_retreatThe Rural Retreat wrestling team won the Hogoheegee District tournament championship in a meet held Thursday night at RRHS.

The Indians had finished its district schedule unbeaten at 5-0 and wrapped up the regular season with its first district tourney championship in three years. RR dethrones Chilhowie, which had won the title for the past three years.

The Indians had a tough challenge from second place George Wythe, who finished just 6.5 points behind.

Rural Retreat had six individual champs, while George Wythe claimed four individual champs.

Winning in their respective weight divisions from Rural Retreat were: Ty Boyd (106 pounds), T.J. Mitchell (113 pounds), Dakota Snider (132 pounds), Travis Anderson (152 pounds), Cory Williams (170 pounds) and Hunter Addison (220).

Also, Travis Anderson was voted as the district’s Wrestler of the Year.

George Wythe wrestlers who won individual titles were: Doug Williams (138 pounds), Jake Lewis (160 pounds), David Smith (182 pounds) and Jonathan Turpin (195 pounds).

The Region C tourney is scheduled for next weekend at Galax.

The championship and consolation finals in each weight classes were held simultaneously. During the 220-pound consolation final, referee Ron Gilman was apparently knocked unconscious when a foot of one of the wrestlers in that match struck him in the head. There was a delay of around half an hour, with Gilman being attended to on the mat and then taken from the gym on a stretcher, before that match and the 285-pound bouts were concluded.

Team scores

Rural Retreat 207.5, George Wythe 201, Chilhowie 146, Patrick Henry 87, Northwood 77, Holston 72

Championship finals –


106 – Ty Boyd (RR) pinned Marshall Testerman (C), 2:41.

113 – TJ Mitchell (RR) pinned Cody Joines (C), :48.

120 – Luke Poe (N) dec. Josh Thomas (H) 13-10.

126 – Landon Kime (GW) pinned DJ Price (N), 1:03.

132 – Dakota Snider (RR) pinned Coleman Dove (GW), 3:53.

138 – Doug Williams (GW) pinned Levi Widener (C), 1:15.

145 – Derek Farris (C) pinned Austin Thomas (GW), 4:54.

152 – Travis Anderson (RR) dec. Cole Lowe (H) 4-1.

60 – Jake Lewis (GW) pinned Abe Sheets (PH), 3:00.

170 – Cory Williams (RR) pinned Jordan Dennison (PH), 1:55.

182 – David Smith (GW) dec. Derek Yates (RR) 4-3 in OT.

195 – Jonathan Turpin (GW) pinned Shane Milhorne (H), :39.

220 – Hunter Addison (RR) pinned Zack Smith (N), 1:48.

285 – Grayson Jackson (C) pinned Justin Hite (GW), 4:39.

Consolation finals --

106 – Austin Tolbert (GW) won by forfeit.

113 – Shane Cole (PH) won by forfeit.

120 – Emmanuel Davidson (RR) pinned Austin Lamrouex (GW), 3:29.

126 – Avery Jessee (PH) pinned Maria Ramos (C), 1:52.

132 – Cody Burkett (C) dec. Nathan Wild (PH) 11-4.

138 – Zach Burch (RR) pinned Canaan Harless (PH), 2:10.

145 – Dakota Nowers (RR), 18-2 tech. fall over Dylan Osborne (N).

152 – Cristavio Ramos (C) def. Jared Turpin (GW) by forfeit.

160 – Jon Street (C) def. Devon Wilson (RR).

170 – Scott Heath (H) pinned Julian Torres (GW), 3:51.

182 – Corey Ashley (H) pinned Zach Waddle (N) :08.

195 – Ryan Justus (RR) pinned Parker Blevins (C), 1:12.

220 – Chris Spencer (GW) dec. Dalton Armstrong (C) 4-3.

285 – Morgan Buchanan (N) pinned Levi Curtis (PH), :44.

Add comment

Member Login

Hogo Users Online

We have 0 members on-line.
We have 15 guests on-line.